Birthday Resolutions: Marking the passing of 12 months

So this was the weekend that saw me cross that quarter of a century mark.  There wasn’t a big night out, a party or even balloons as I decided that this birthday would be a bit of a quiet one.  There has been a lot to reflect on over the last 12 months, and whilst this year has undoubtedly changed my outlook on life, I know that there is so much to be thankful for and to celebrate.

Looking back: My 24th Birthday

Fantastic Friends

This year has taught me more about the value of friendship than any other.   Whether it’s laughing over DVDs, finishing a bottle of wine (or rum – depends on the friend!), hitting the sales, or passing a stack of tissues, I know that there are people in my life that, no matter what life throws or how far the distance, will be by my side.

Me on the Great Wall of China

Taking a Chance – Have an Adventure

This year I’ve learnt to never take things for granted, and to never been too comfortable.  I’m looking forward to the next 25 years ready to embrace all the opportunities that life throws, and to really start believing in myself.  Last year I may have worked hard on biting my tongue, but this year I’m going to work on rekindling my creativity, sense of adventure and sense of worth.

Playing in the snow...

I’m an Adult

This week may have seen me tick over from 24 to 25, but this year has seen me really grow up – and sometimes I think I’ve grown up too much.  I may be an adult, with a husband and bills and a leaky flat, but this coming year the weight of my responsibilities isn’t going to stop my childlike glee at running through piles of coloured leaves in the autumn, feeding the ducks in the spring, or even taking part in an impromptu water fight come summer.  Part of becoming an adult and facing the dark patches of life is to see the lighter patches so much brighter.

Mr D and I: The British Heart Foundation Santa Run

Making a difference

Back last month I wrote a blog about my experiences of the BBC Happiness Experiment. I’m not entirely sure how successful this experiment was, but one of the things I took from it, was how much one person’s actions can affect other people.  So this year I’m focused on going that extra mile, and having strength in myself to make an impact where I can.   So, for a start I’m sharing this link.

If you can it would mean the world to me if you could sign this petition.  Without the ongoing support of the staff at the Royal Brompton Hospital a very dear friend of mine would not have had the 24 years that she shared with us.

So here I am:  Twenty Five.   An adult.  A wife.  A daughter.  A professional.  A friend.

And very much prepared to take life by the horns.

by

Leave a Reply

