The Guardian Asks Some Questions… #meme

I’ll be honest.  Until Friday I was a MeMe virgin.  That was until Nicki (@NickiCawood) tagged me…

So, any way, here I am (just a few days late) sitting in my garden enjoying this strange April sunshine reflecting all about myself.  For people who read my blog you’ll know that it’s a bit of a mish-mash –  a lump of social media insight, with a sprinkling of film reviews and a dash of day-to-day ranting – but very rarely do I sit and think about myself in my blogs.  I’m usually more a conduit to let some angst about some topical subject flow through.  But it’s been really refreshing to sit and think a bit about how I’ve got where I am.  So thanks Nicki, this has been a jolly interesting couple of hours in the sun!

Questions about Me.

Which living person do you most admire, and why?

I’ve sat and racked my brains and I just can’t think of an individual.  There are so many people who I admire, and not for a life of fame or celebrity.  The people I admire I’m honored to consider friends.

When were you happiest
Usually sitting with a cup of tea/nice cold cider(depends on the season!), chatting with friends watching the world go by.  The world of work has confined these occasions to just rare weekends now, but at university I remember there was chase for this every day.  No special occasion, no reason, but for the simple pleasure of enjoying someone else’s company.

What was your most embarrassing moment?

I am a very sensitive person, but I do have a tendency to fail to engage brain before opening my mouth. 

My first “proper” job was as a Real Life Features journalist, I’d have to “chase” down stories and interview people and then get their stories into national magazines and newspapers.  I met some absolutely amazing and inspiring people whilst I did that job – some people who had been through absolute hell, and were willing to talk about it in order to act as a warning to others.

I won’t go into details, but the first every story I got published saw me speaking to a woman who was talking me through a horrific ordeal.  Unfortunately my brain didn’t stop my mouth when it tried to make light of the subject and I said something that was possibly ever-so-slightly inappropriate (I completely blame my rooky status) – thankfully the lady took it quite well, but I spent the rest of the week I could hide under my desk.

Bad mouth.

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought?

Having never bought any property, (not even a little caravan or rainbow-bedecked beach hut I dreamt of as a child) I can easily say that the most expensive thing I have ever bought is my little VW Polo called Percy.  He’s lovely and had a happy little flower that sits on the dash-board.  He doesn’t even complain about my terrible taste in music on the drive to work…

What is your most treasured possession?

I treasure my memories.  More than anything.  I’m a bit of a sentimental fool, and so what I deem to be treasured possessions a lot of people would deem to be tat.  But to me it’s the small things that provide a solid base for my memories to hang on:  My stuffed Care Bear that I’ve had since my second Christmas (somewhat thread-bare now, and eyeless…), a wooden heart that was given to me by a teenage Mr D, and a plastic headband with fluffy cats ears, handmade 18 months ago for Halloween, the first blanket I ever knitted (and am still knitting) and a used New Look gift card – the last birthday present I’d ever receive from one of my best friends.

Where would you like to live?

I’m not too fussed about where I live as long as I can be happy and I can spend time with my friends and family.  Although, a beach would be nice.

What’s your favourite smell?

Easy! Laundry. 

Specifically the inside of a washing machine or the fumes given off by tumble dryers (yes, I am a little bit strange).

Who would play you in the film of your life?

Johnny Depp. Obviously this would have to be an “inspired by” interpretation of my life, but  I’d love to see him attempt my old Real-Life Features job.

What is your favourite book?

I have an English Literature degree and so this question is always thrown up in job interviews!  I hate it!

 I can never pick a favourite book, it’s completely impossible!  I love the works of Margaret Atwood if I’m fancying a bit of dystopian explorations of femininity, and I love the familiar rhythm patterns of Shakespeare.  But equally I enjoy the epic fantasies of Robert Jordan,  the insights of Greek Myths and even guilty pleasures of JK Rowling, Tamora Pearce and occasionally even the ridiculous dreaming of Wilbur Smith (honestly, hilarious if you’re a woman!). 

What is your most unappealing habit?

Not thinking before I speak (see above).  Bad move.

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?

Another easy one!  Rainbow Brite!  80s children’s TV legend, and the reason I am RainbowClaire.

What is your earliest memory?
Being put into my cot – I remember it was brown, and that there were new people down stairs and that I did not want to be in said cot.  I’m pretty sure I didn’t get what I wanted.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

That would have to be my terrible taste in music.  I can’t help myself.   Whilst I have a wide range of music I enjoy I love nothing more than blaring out some really terrible tunes as I drive, or turning up the volume and spontaneously bursting into dance in my living room.

I find myself apologizing if anyone listens to my iPod…  there’s only so much Spice Girls/B*Witched/Steps that you can cover up. 

What do you owe your parents?

I’m lucky in that I know my parents will always support me.  No matter what I do.  I can’t imagine owing anyone anything more.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
The man I married.

 

What does love feel like?
It’s being comfortable to talk about anything and everything.  To enjoy spending time together even when you’re doing nothing, or different things.  To feel safe and secure and warm, like curling under a blanket, or wiggling your toes into cool sand.

What was the best kiss of your life?

This one:

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

On text messages and online I am a bit of a smilie fiend. 

Oh and exclamation marks! Love those!  Never have too many! (Okay, I fully accept that you can and I’m working to curb that… but seriously, it’s like an addiction.)

What is the worst job you’ve done?
£2 an hour working in a fish and chip shop.  Cleaning out a potato chipper and certainly change a person – honestly, the smell… blerg.

If you could edit your past, what would you change?

I wouldn’t consciously change anything.  My life has made me who I am today.

But I would make the most of every moment, and never take life for granted – so I’d probably say “no, not today” a lot less…

.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?
Luckily this is something I’ve never actually experienced personally.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

I’ve always ben rubbish at telling people what I’m good at.  So I asked Mr D…

  Here are some of the things he reeled off: My English Lit degree, my CIM qualification, my job, transforming our university student newspaper, getting married, walking the Great Wall of China…  Although my favourite from his list had to be:

“Successfully completeing a transaction in a tiny shop in China with a man who spoke no English and with no understanding of the currency.”  I have to agree – that was pretty impressive.  You should have seen the sign language.

When did you last cry, and why?

Last week.  Driving back from the supermarket.  Sometimes things just make you remember, and you know you’ll never forget.

How do you relax?

Either curling up watching some brainless telly (I love a bit of Charmed/Buffy!), or being creative – usually writing poetry.

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?
Probably losing a bit of weight – I lost 2 stone a couple of years back for my wedding, and it’s slowly crept back on…  I’m not huge, but I can feel unhealthy so I know I’d have more energy and would do more… but at the same time I’m not ready to do a big diet right now.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?
Make the most of every second and never take anything for granted.

Now the bit I’m never very good at.  Tagging people.  The thing is, I always hate being tagged in notes on Facebook but for some reason I feel that blogging may be just a bit different. 

So for that reason, I’m tagging @SillyBry and @ThatJoEden, cos I know they both want to write more and that they enjoy a good bit of blogging on the quiet – and they make me laugh.

And I’m also going to tag @MattRobinson87 who is amazing, and needs to know it.

Don’t hate me guys – feel free to blog away if you wish!

 

 

by

One thought on “The Guardian Asks Some Questions… #meme

  1. Brilliant meme! I’m not a big fan of these in truth but I loved the questions in this one, and you seem to have enjoyed it, so hopefully forgiven me lol! A very interesting read and some gorgeous pictures!!

Leave a Reply

